OBE   OBIEE   Tutorial     
       
          Setting Up a Multiuser Development Environment (MUDE)  

 

 

 

“SH.zip” for “MUDE” tutorial has gone “AWOL”

 

Q: I can’t download file SH.zip for the MUDE tutorial.  I’m getting “file not found”?

 

Well, yes, it seems that this particular “SH.zip” has gone “AWOL” at present.  Fortunately, the “SH.zip” file that you need for this tutorial is the same as that used for tutorial one, “Creating Interactive Dashboards and Using Oracle Business Intelligence Answers”, and for tutorial three, “Installing the Oracle Business Intelligence Suite Enterprise Edition on Windows”, even though it comes ... or would come if the link wasn’t broken ... from a different location.

 

 

“SH.prd exists do you want to overwrite it”?

 

Q: When trying to open the repository in multi-user mode I get the message “sh.prd exists do you want to overwrite it”?

 

This message suggests that you forgot to rename file “sh.prd” to “shared_sh.rpd” after copying it to the shared folder.

 

 

“You are already attempting to check in the file”

 

Q: In the MUDE tutorial when I try to Merge Local Changes as Kurt I get a “you are already attempting to check in the file”, but I haven’t previously tried to check in the file?

 

This is a little misleading – you need to read the tutorial instructions carefully.  The “you” in the message refers to the user name of the user logged on to MS Windows, not to the user name of the user currently logged on to the “Administration Tool”.  So this “you” – Windows user – is already midway through the process of performing a “Merge Local Changes” operation under the guise of “Administration Tool” user “Karen”, when a second instance of this you – Windows user – tries to perform a “Merge Local Changes” operation under the guise of “Administration Tool” user “Kurt”.

 

 

This MUDE tutorial is doing my head in?

 

Q: This MUDE tutorial is doing my head in.  What is modified and what is current in “This chooses the modified repository over the current repository (this does not have Channels table), thereby rejecting the changes of the other developer, and restoring the repository to the state before Karen deleted Channels”?

 

The “modified” repository refers to Kurt’s version and the “current” repository refers to Karen’s version.  Karen’s version does not have the “Channels” table and this version is rejected.  The repository is restored so that it matches Kurt’s version which does have the “Channels” table.  Phew!